About the Constructor Certification Commission

Commission Policies
Company Award
Stephen P. Byrne Award
Contact Us

The Constructor Certification Commission was established by the AIC in 1996 to administer the Constructor Certification Program.  The Commission, as it is often called, operates as a semi-autonomous organization outside of the normal AIC Committee Structure.  This is to ensure that the Commission can make impartial decisions regarding the Certification program. 

The Commission oversees both the Associate Constructor and the Certified Professional Constructor programs and operates a number of Committees to ensure the success of each program.  The Commission is governed by a Board of Governors, which includes 4 Elected Governors, 4 AIC Appointed Governors, and a Public Member.  In addition the Commission has a Board of Advisers made up of industry professionals, representatives of industry associations, and educational institutions.   

Commission Officers

Gregg Bradshaw, Chairman

Rick Lawrence, Vice Chair

Penny Knoll, Treasurer
Mike Tramel, Secretary

The Board of Governors 

Gregg Bradshaw, CPC (Elected) (2020 - 2024)
Joe D. Hall General Contractors


Rick Lawrence, CPC (Elected) (2018 - 2022)
Siciliano, Inc.


Penny Knoll, CPC (Elected) (2019 - 2023)

Montana State University 


J. Mike Tramel, CPC (AIC Appointed) (2020 - 2024)

University of Arkansas - Little Rock


Murray Papendorf, MBA, CPC (Elected) (2021 – 2024)

Direct Supply Aptura


Dennis Bausman, CPC (AIC Appointed) (2018 - 2022)
Clemson University


Chuck Berryman, PhD, CPC (AIC Appointed) (2021 – 2025)

Louisiana State University

David Mattson, FAIC, CPC, MCIOB (AIC Appointed) (2021 – 2025)

D.R. Mattson Inc.

George O. Lea Jr. PE CCM FCMAA - Public Member
Chief of Military Programs Branch  - Engineering and Construction
US Army Corps of Engineers

Board of Advisors

Robert Aniol

Sundt Construction


David Batie 

East Carolina University 


Garry Claflin

Wood Group


Neil Eldin

University of Houston



Brian Holley



Joe Kranz

Turner Construction


Roger Liska

Clemson University


Robert Stephens

Morley Builders

Ross Talbot

The Walsh Group

Commission Committees

Examination Committee

Garry Claflin, CPC - Chair
Wood Group


Christopher Ellis, CPC - Co-Chair

Skanska USA Civil Northeast

Item Writing Subcommittee
Ed Brayton, CPC
Brayton Management

Skills and Knowledge Committee
Chuck Berryman, CPC - Chair
Louisiana State University

Application Vetting Subcommittee
Erin Vitale, CPC - Chair
Alfred State University

CPD Audit Subcommittee
David Dorsch, CPC - Chair
Dave Dorsch Consulting

The Constructor Certification Commission understands the importance of impartiality and potential conflicts of interests in carrying out its certification activities. The Commission guards against impartiality by closely following its Operating Procedures (Commission Document No. 1) and its Policies and Procedures. Furthermore, the Commission effectively manages conflicts of interest and objectivity by training systems put in place and detailed within Commission Policy 5.9. These systems ensure that the Commission operates in an independent and impartial manner.  In addition, the Commission complies with it's own conflict of interest Policy 5.5.